586,043 active members*
3,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Strong 1318DS

Hi folks, I'm pretty new to the world of CNC machining but being familiar with Artcam and several other CAD/CAM programs I decided to take a punt on a Chinese machine in order to satisfy my curiosity.

Well I'm now the proud owner of a Strong Signs Digitech CNC router/engraver which I've imported to Scotland from Guangdong, China. I'm using Artcam 9.1 with it and have enjoyed some success in setting up and figuring out the processes over the past fortnight.

It appears to a be a pretty good machine for the money, and I upgraded the spindle to a 2.2kw for the hell of it. It seems to be very similar to the Exitech and Quick CNC machines from China, although Strong themselves cite the build quality and the incorporation of European and Japanese parts as being the major difference.

Their technical support has been first rate, although I did have a couple of problems to begin with (one of the micro-step motors needed replacing for example) and Strong have been ultra-supportive and professional in their approach to all problems. I'm currently experiencing a problem with the plunge depth of my z axis (it won't go beyond 10mm when I am trying to cut doughnut shapes from 18mm MDF for some reason) but I think it is a simple parameter problem in the DSP hand-controller, they say that they will have the solution tomorrow morning. (Time zones are one of the difficulties in obtaining technical support from China - no answers in the same shift unless you start work at Midnight! :violin: )

On the whole I'm quite satisfied, but I would dearly have loved to have been one of many English speakers to have bought one as my Mandarin is non-existant and the language barrier can be a problem - especially when you are a Scotsman! :tired:

Slan leat,

Scott.