586,032 active members*
2,881 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design > Determining °C/W of a water-cooled block at different flow rates

Determining °C/W of a water-cooled block at different flow rates

Hello, new to the forum! I have more of a thermal question, but couldn't find a proper place to put it, I apologize if this is the wrong place to pose this question.

I am building a DIY Class A amplifier, that will be water-cooled. The Aluminum block is 3"x"3 @ 12" length. I am not an engineer, so go easy on me. I've attached a pic to describe what I'm trying to achieve here. The block will be run to a radiator out of a 190Hp gas vehicle with two large fans providing the cooling, and of course a water pump. I am trying to figure out the °C/W of the block at various flow rates ie 1, 1.5, 2, etc in Gallons Per Minute. My hope is to dissipate up to 1300-1400 watts, and keep the Mosfets at roughly 75-80C junction temps. There will be 12 Mosfets attached to the block, 6 on top, 6 on the bottom. The materials used are whats on hand to build this cheaply; advice and design change if necessary would be helpful.

regards-
    John
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Cooling Block VER 3.jpg  

The first thing that I can say looking at your plan is that you most likely want to use a much thinner block so that the water channel runs as close as possible to the transistor attachment in the block. Secondly, using thermal compound like heatsink grease, self sticking thermal tape etc., where the transistors connect to the block is also essential.

Experimentation is the only way to be sure of the exact temperatures achieved in the system.

1400 W means 1400 J/s of energy. 4.18 joules is enough energy to heat 1 g of water 1 degree C. Dividing it out, this means that the amplifier output can heat 334g of water 1 degree C per second.