586,080 active members*
3,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: mastercam x2

mastercam x2

he guys,

Can anyone help us out with a mastercam x2 postprocessor for Okuma machiningcentre MC4VA ??

theo

I have an MC 4020, I had to do some pretty serious editing to my post processor on the OSP 4 post to get it to do what I needed. (way above my head). If you purchase maintenence from Mastercam they should be able to help you, Robert

Robert,

We are looking to purchase and okuma mcv 4020, I noticed you have the mc 4020, I don't know the product line well enough to discern the differences. The machine we are considering is a 2002 model with, I believe, the OSP 100 control. We have the maint contract with MCam, so I don't think getting the post will be a problem.

My question is, (I have 15 years experience fanuc/haas programming), is the code much different?

Thanks,

Sam

Quote Originally Posted by samhyto View Post
    Robert,

We are looking to purchase and okuma mcv 4020, I noticed you have the mc 4020, I don't know the product line well enough to discern the differences. The machine we are considering is a 2002 model with, I believe, the OSP 100 control. We have the maint contract with MCam, so I don't think getting the post will be a problem.

My question is, (I have 15 years experience fanuc/haas programming), is the code much different?

Thanks,

Sam
    Sam,
    The codes are the same, the tool change process is a little different. Robert

fair amount different

are you talking the difference between fanuc and Okuma? if so, they are opposite ends of the spectrum. I have run fanucs for many years and we just got a multi axis okuma and it is night and day. okuma uses lots of variables and word type offsets and most of the g code and m codes are totally different, although some of the basics are the same. good luck, you should be prepared for a struggle for a while.

Rob & CNCClimber,