586,075 active members*
4,063 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > XJ20 mill just arrived - basic preparation steps?
Page 1 of 2 12

XJ20 mill just arrived - basic preparation steps?

Hello everyone!

I'm a total newbie and have been lurking on here for a short while with the idea of getting a milling machine. I eventually treated myself to a new XJ20 milling machine. Well it's arrived and is sitting on the garage floor!

I was just wondering if someone who is perhaps familiar with this machine can give me a quick run down on what I should do in terms of basic preparation? By this I mean, what bits should I open, clean and lubricate.

I'm such a newbie I had to ask the seller how to open the drawbar cover! Turned out that it was painted over and needed to be hit with a block of wood! :withstupi

Also, I hear that like many of the cheaper imported machines, the XJ20 is shipped with free swarf hidden inside and owners have to try to find it so they can unlock the special bonus - a usable milling machine. As I'm crap at games (with the exception of "Monkey Island" but that was a few years back) I'm hoping someone can help me cheat...

Initially just clean off the protective grease from the table and the slideways, then give them an oiling. If you don't want to dive too far into the mechanics of it then I'd just make sure the gibb strips are cleaned, oiled and re-adjusted.

You now need to tram the head and also if possible check the quill/spindle to make sure it's not suffering from the alignment/wobble/run-out some of us have found. I'd also keep a close eye on the state of the gears by periodically shining a torch through the vent holes on the right side of the head casting. If you start seeing gold coloured flakes, then it means the drive gear is wearing and will eventually strip it's teeth completely.