586,058 active members*
4,281 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > New Build Specification (Plasma/Router unit)

New Build Specification (Plasma/Router unit)

I’m a newbie to CNC controlled machines, although I’ve using and building tooling and machinery for way too many years now.

Recently I decided to “bite the bullet” and build a CNC Plasma/Router unit, after joining and reading a lot of the posts on this Forum....I've got to say this is a brilliant Forum :cheers:

Although I’m confident in designing and building the mechanical part of the project my knowledge and talent relating to the electrical/electronic side is minimal!....fortunately a mate, who is a retired electronics designer is willing to help with the detailed assembly, however he is not totally “au-fe” with the specifics of building such a machine, so I’d appreciate some help and advice!

I’ve approached this build in much the same way as any design project (I’m an Industrial Designer and Modelmaker by profession) with lots of research, but I thought it may be prudent to bounce my initial thoughts and specs off forum members who are far more knowledgeable and expert in this area than I am.....so as I don’t waste too much time and effort going down the wrong track!

After all my reading I must admit I’m somewhat confused as to the motor, Gecko and Breakout Board specs, required for such a machine, so I would welcome feedback on what members think would be appropriate electrical component requirements.

I’ve done some CAD designs (I’II post them for critique in the near future) but basically the design specs of my machine are as follows:
    (BTW: I understand the downside (especially after reading various threads) of a combination plasma/router, but have some ideas for working around many of the problems)

• Gantry style plasma/router unit