586,728 active members*
3,291 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > V22 Boolean Subtract

V22 Boolean Subtract

Guys, please help me to subtract an area from a large surface. I've imported, then extruded a shape to get a solid. Now, I'd like to remove a ovalized square.

The software changes the color of that area and adds a curve under one of the corners. The part has another feature (hole) to be removed. That was easy and it took just a few seconds.

What am I doing wrong?

TIA!
    Rob in Ohio

Pick the solid that you want to keep first, then select the solid you want to remove. Right click. Select ok. Boolean operation should then execute.

I can't get the area to extrude. That's the problem that I'm having.
    Rob in Ohio

Hello,

I am new to the cadcam software world and I have v21 bobcad. I have been playing with it,b ut there are some pretty remedial(to someone who knows the software)questions I have. Would anyone be willing to help with ofsetting my learning curve?

First I'm cutting a hex shaped part and I was wondering if there was a way to draw a hex without drawing each individual line. Second, I want to machine that hex leaving stock for a second pass(in x and y axes only), do I simply offset the geometry by my desired second pass amount and then cut all on both?

Hex.bas

If you know how to use the scripts, here ia a hex.bas to use

'HexFlat.bas

UnselectAll

R=2.0*25.4
    Ask Header="Hexagon by Flats",Output,Cancel=canc,\
    "Distance Across Flats"=R

If canc=1 Then
    Exit
    Endif

R=R/1.732049

I=R*COS(1.0471976)
    J=R*SIN(1.0471976)

PointCoordinates X = R, Y = 0, Z = 0
    PointCoordinates X = I, Y = J, Z = 0
    PointCoordinates X =-I, Y = J, Z = 0
    PointCoordinates X =-R, Y = 0, Z = 0
    PointCoordinates X =-I, Y =-J, Z = 0
    PointCoordinates X = I, Y =-J, Z = 0
    Close

LineJoin

ViewAll

Mark