586,121 active members*
3,015 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Coolant tank cleaning

Okay guys, I have been lurking here for years but finally signed up. I own a small shop and primarily do production work on my own products. I have a Mini and use SW and MCX2. I am 100% self taught but am luck enough to be a fast learner.

A snapshot of some of my products...

Anyway, my issue is coming home smelling like a toilet. I use Shell Adrana 770 at about 12%. I ran the machine from February to September on the same coolant with no issues. In September I got stupid and cut a hunk of wood in the machine as a tester (I didn't want to cock up a VERY pricey hunk of AL). 2 days after that the Haas smelled like an out house. I spent 8 hours cleaning and flushing the machine and then refilled it with the 770 at the same ratio.

Within 6 weeks the smell was back and now I have to skim the tank daily. I get this white, fatty globs out and the coolant and it has gone from a crystal blue color to a gray, milky, stinky, crap.

Any help will be greatly appreciated,

Gerame

When the coolant gets a little ripe where I work we add some baking soda. After a few days there is no odor and it also neutralizes the acidicness that the bacteria may have created.

When coolant stinks, you need to take a step back and figure out what is going on.

When I first started in this game on my own, shared a shop with a wood working guy, had some stinky sump issues, and I attribute it to his damn sawdust. The stinky would show up a few days after he was getting his groove on in some really detailed stuff that created dust that stuck to everything as opposed to when he was actually making chips.

So what happened, you added food(wood, termites eat it). Same as if you peed in the tank or dumped a box of sweet and sour chicken in there. I've run some wood on occasion, and as I'm sure you've learned, vacuum it up.