586,121 active members*
3,190 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > relay to turn plasma on needed with bob campbell

relay to turn plasma on needed with bob campbell

Is a relay needed with the bob campbell BOB, or can the board control that on its own? I have a cutmaster 51 that has two terminals for connecting for machine use.

see link for pic http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48868

I am familiar with that, but need to know if i can just connect those to terminals to the bob, or if I need a relay, and if so, like a regular 12v automotive relay using the 12v out on the board?

any of these work?
    12 VDC N.O. RELAY
    12 VDC SPDT 30 AMP RELAY
    New in Box Solid State Relay SSR 24-480V AC, 25A

Thanks
    Brian =)

The Combo+ BOB has several uncommitted relays on it (3 I think). I have used them on milling machines and used the relays for spindle run/stop, direction and coolant pump control. There is a 4th relay that is controlled by he charge pump on the BOB. If you are not using those relays for anything else in your system, they should be fine. I think the relays are rated at an amp or so and should be fine for a control signal. I can't speak on any of their other models, but the information should be in the docs that are freely downloadable for his boards.

Bob

what relay should i be looking for if i purchased it separately? I dont need all the extra relays, and $50 I can beat by along ways by just buying the relay I need, but I dont know exactly what to look for.

The bob output voltage is 12v, and the plasma when reading dc volts across the 2 machine switch terminals, it is 11 volts.

I read that i want a solid state relay, and i am not familiar with these. does it need to be, or just a standard relay?

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfesmetalfab View Post