586,116 active members*
3,442 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Milltronics > Milltronics Centurion6 GibbsCAM 2007 post proc. prob.

Milltronics Centurion6 GibbsCAM 2007 post proc. prob.

hello, I am a newbie programmer, only been machining for a year now, but have been in computers and programming computers for 15+ years.

The shop I work at is using Gibbs CAM 2007 they dont pay maintenance and have a issue with post output running on our Milltronics VM16 and VM24 Centurion 6 I believe.

The post works good for everything except, they said they cannot use cutter comp.
    It acts erratic they say, I havent tried it and they havent for years now, so I cant get a exact definition as to the issue, except that they cant use cutter comp.

Is there a way to get a newer post processor for these machines, ie like DL it from the net.
    I thought there was a way to rewrite or write your own post processor, is it fairly easy or has some one already wrote a corrected one for these machines I can download.?
    any help would be appreciated, these guys here can run Gibbs but they dont know much about computer programs.

Thanks guys
    CHEERS!

If the shop has a legit copy of GibbsCam, talk to the vendor about the post.

Cheers
    Trev

check with milltronics, there are a few things in the controls that make them act a little strange with cutter comp..............one of them being " special flags" one of them is "trig help" and i cant think of the other one. they can switch them around and it will let you use regular cutter comp

Turn off the trig help feature. This can be done by using MDI and commanding 2 functions. The first command needs to be PB208=0 The second command is PB81=2 Sometimes this feature of the Milltronics control can cause undesired movements.