586,106 active members*
3,090 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Deciding on a Mill, Haas MiniMill or Sharp 2412
Page 1 of 2 12

Deciding on a Mill, Haas MiniMill or Sharp 2412

Ok, this is going to be a long winded post.....lots of newbie questions and a fairly straight forward request about responses.

The request on responses is simple.....please just answer the questions, don't attempt to tell me I am getting in over my head or that I am wasting money or the what not. There is a bunch personally that I am not going to talk about that factors in the decisions I am making.

So, with that being said, I have decided to start a machine shop out of my garage, mainly to support my side business of RC Car parts that I have been running for 5 years now and am going to be doing it full time now. My business mainly did motors and batteries, along with the occasional specialty part or tool. Motors and Batteries have changed a bunch, since the acceptance of Brushless and Lipo batteries, so to keep my company going, I am going to be moving in new directions with machined parts, while still doing the motor and battery thing. I will also be machining some Airsoft gun parts (not very big) and possibly the occasional small car or bike part for my dad/brother. Nothing will be very big, say bigger than a shoe....

I am a very big novice at machining, but I am well on my way and eager to learn. Ordered quite a few videos and books, along with working on setting up a mentor thing local. I am going to be buying a few mills, but I want to get my workhouse out of the way now, while I am able to make it happen.

I have narrowed my choices down to the Sharp 2412 or the Haas Minimill.....

Now the problems I face are the following.....

Since the unit will be going in my garage at home, which is attached to the house, I have a few size and power issues.