586,076 active members*
4,119 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Taig Mills / Lathes > Rundown on DeepGroove1's "turnkey" CNC Taig mill
Page 1 of 7 123

Rundown on DeepGroove1's "turnkey" CNC Taig mill

Well, still not able to get the mill I got from DeepGroove1 to work all that well. Prone to stalls. Dampers do nothing. At best, this thing "limps", and tends to stall unpredictably. The only sure safe speed seems to be like a maddeningly slow 10ipm.

Being an electrical engineer, I had to dig into what this setup actually is. I found this out.

Steppers: 3.3v 2.8A "280 oz" 1.8 deg NEMA23 double-stack. No info on what make or model it is and DeepGroove1 will not say. The motors provided are unlabeled, the 280oz came from his eBay description and 3.3v 2.8A comes from a pic on his website.

Power supply: 24v 4.5A. I know for sure there is no current problem, putting it on a scope there is no drop in voltage that indicates a shortage of current and IIRC I set them all to jog at once. I'm not surprised here since the way these drivers work is a buck configuration so average input current is much less than the average output current.