586,461 active members*
4,237 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

steppers vs servos

Im planning on building a x2 benchtop cnc machine up for fun. I am a trained machinist and cnc programer, I haven't worked in the industry for 5 years. theres been lost of changes in the home machines in the last 5 years. I worked with fadel and haas machines some okk's and okuma's aswell. I believe they all run closed loop type servo systems. why do the stepper systems dominate the home shops?

Quote Originally Posted by accuracymark View Post
    I believe they all run closed loop type servo systems. why do the stepper systems dominate the home shops?
    Mainly Cost I would say.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Mainly Cost I would say.
    Al.
    I guess that makes total sense as hobbies uses up the spare whats left after the bills are payed.

Im planning on building a x2 benchtop cnc machine up for fun. I am a trained machinist and cnc programer, I haven't worked in the industry for 5 years. theres been lost of changes in the home machines in the last 5 years. I worked with fadel and haas machines some okk's and okuma's aswell. I believe they all run closed loop type servo systems. why do the stepper systems dominate the home shops?
    For a small machine, like the X2, servos are more expensive, and have absolutely no functional advantage over steppers. Servos are good for high performance, and heavy machines, but for a machine the size of the X2, you can't use more performance than a good stepper system can provide. Plus, with steppers you don't have to worry about the one disadvantage of servos - potential damaging runaway if you lose an encoder, or have a driver failure. That can't happen with steppers.

Regards,
    Ray L.

Quote Originally Posted by HimyKabibble View Post