586,052 active members*
4,157 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Stress relieving and annealing weldments

I'm making a billet steel manifold for a diesel engine. It will be machined in 3 pieces, and welded together. It's expected to see temperatures of 2000*F which far exceeds what a normal gasoline engine would see, heat soaked at 2000*F would be a better explaination.

In order to prevent possible cracking, I was thinking that after welding, maybe a trip to the heat treater for annealing and or stress relieving? It's going to be a one off custom part, 1018 mild, TIG welded with 70-s2, final machining of the sealing and mating surfaces after welding and stress relieving.

Any advice is appreciated. I am a certified welder, no problems there, just wondering about the stress relieving, I'd hate to have this thing crack half way through the season.

TIA,
    MC

It is not likely to crack but it will almost certainly distort.

I think normalizing is what you are looking for and if you want to be really picky, normalize, rough machine, normalize again and finish machine. But that is probably overkill.

Incidentally are you using hot finished steel?
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Yes, normalizing is the term I'm looking for.

Planning on cold finish 1018, need to use 1.5 or 2" thick, 5" wide which I have in stock. Can't seem to get that size in hotroll, A36. Correct me if I'm wrong, hotroll seems to be under less stress than cold finish. I think I would prefer hotroll for that reason, although cold finish machines much nicer.

Thoughts?

Hot rolled almost no stress and practically no distortion after significant material removal.

It will machine almost the same as cold rolled but the technique is to take good cuts at high SFM and good feed.