586,102 active members*
3,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Uncategorised CAD Discussion > Need Help Understanding the Basics in Cad

Question Need Help Understanding the Basics in Cad

I'm new to Cad and have purchased an inexpensive drawing package, Turbo Cad Version 10. It has 3D and layer capability, OK that’s about all the buzz words I know.

I have a few hand sketches of what I want my 2nd machine to be like, and want to do the finish drawings in Cad, first to know how the parts fit together and how the machine will move in all extremes of movement before I actually start building, and secondly since I have one running CNC I can cut many of the parts on it of I have each part in a DXF file.

When you set about to draw a complete machine how do you draw it? Do you draw the individual pieces and move them into their working position or put each piece on a different layer, or just how is it best done. I do want to have individual pieces that will enable me to cut them.

Thanks
    Hager

I am no auto cad wizard but I would think the best and easiest way to draw your machine would be in layers. That is usually how I draw my fixtures for my wire machines so I can layer them to make sure the top fits on the bottom and such. Also keeps you less confused when dimensioning the parts while at the machine. Hope this was helpful

I have attached a simple drawing in Sketch It, there are two components, red and blue. In one view they are together, and then there are two views showing the detail of each part.

Should you try and draw say the red one first on one layer then draw the blue one on another layer and have it set so you could see through the top layer so you would get the drawing of the two to the correct orientation and size?

Or would you draw then completely independent of each other, not being able to see the other. Then merge them together somehow.