586,069 active members*
3,561 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > What is the difference on 321 inserts??

What is the difference on 321 inserts??

I am new to the machining world and Have bought a boring head with a attachment that uses TPGB 321 inserts. I see they are all kinds of 321's like a TNMG 321 and 321's without holes. Where can I find what all this means. I need to know what bits would do good in cast iron, chrome, and aluminum. Thanks to all that reply!!!!

James

Where can I find what all this means.
    http://www.anconline.com/nomenclatur...ureinserts.htm
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

THANK YOU!!!! Should help big time!!!!!!

How do you know what materials they cut? Is there a thickness or what that makes them different? Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by wrechin2 View Post
    I see they are all kinds of 321's like a TNMG 321 and 321's without holes.
    With a hole is intended to be mounted with a counersunk torx head bolt, or when they are that small, usually called screws. Without the hole is made for tool holders that use clamps to secure the insert, some require "chip breakers", some don't.

See the picture I attached, you'll probably need to save it zoom in to read it, but I checked and it's pleanty clear enough to read.

Your TPGB-321's are going to have an 11* relief which will fly through aluminum, but the sharper edge will break down faster on harder materials. Your TNMG inserts are going to have a 0* which would be better for cast iron.

Then you have your diffrent grades, usually C1 thru C8. And each manufacture has thier own "code" for the grade of carbide, I use the ISO ANSI C1 thru C8.