586,076 active members*
3,873 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How much Torque is needed?

Gday folks!

I'm planning to build my own CNC routertable right now. Because I'm a real woodworker and not een electronerd it's quite hard to understand all the things about the electrics!
    But still going strong, this forum helps a lot. Allready read a lot of interesting things and seen some amazing pics!

My specs:
    Table size: app. 70x60 cm. Due to the size I want the table to be static
    I'm thinking about the HobbyCNC plan or something like that.
    Material: Wood, Acrylic glass, MDF. I want to use standard 6mm bits or smaller to cut 18mm thick material or thinner
    Router: I'm planning to use my Metabo router (710Watt 6mm shaft) and/or a standard Dremel. But I guess for the bigger parts the dremel is to light.
    Software: want to use software which is easy and makes it possible to translate Coreldraw pics to.
    Motors: haven't got a clue
    Hardware: dito
    Gliders: dito
    money: <500$

In all I think it must be pretty heavy duty.

I'm watching Ebay for parts and read a lot of sites and forumannouncements allready but I can't find good advise about the amount of torgue (Ncm / Oz/in) needed to make the machine work.
    Can someone give me some good advise and/or share his experience building a machine like mine?

NB.
    I'm planning to come to the US in april 05 (SF.area CA.) Thanks to Bush the Dollas is incredibly cheap at the moment. Being Dutch I want to order my motors and hardware in the US and pick them up by then..

I got good answers to similar questions on http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7146