586,732 active members*
3,247 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: POST Glitch

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    54

    Question POST Glitch

    Hello ALL!

    Just ran into a problem when I view or post code the tool change come in with a negative move as discussed bellow.

    In FANUC 11T POST
    Under FORMAT “TOOL CHANGE” I have the following information.


    G97S<CALC-SPEED><SP-RANGE><EOB>
    <MOTION>X<X-RETURN>Z<Z-RETURN><SPINDLE><EOB>
    T<$TOOL>00<EOB>
    M01<EOB>
    N<TOOL>G50S<SP-MAX><EOB>
    T<TOOL><OFFSET#><EOB>
    {<MOTION>}X<X-COORD>Z<Z-COORD><COOLANT><EOB>
    <IF><CSS-ON><THEN>
    G96S<CSS-SPEED><EOB>
    <ENDIF>
    G04U2.<EOB>

    This results in the below G-CODE output with an X-axis –11.0092 move that drives the turret down to the over travel and stops the machine.

    G97S450M42
    G0X--11.0092Z3.4908M3
    T0300
    M01
    N06G50S4000
    T0606
    X6.45Z0.0349M8
    G96S760
    G04U2.

    Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?
    Thanks

  2. #2

    Easy Way Out

    Here at Hardinge, this is how we do it.

    "<MOTION>X<X-RETURN>Z<Z-RETURN><SPINDLE><EOB>"
    change to...
    M98P1<SPINDLE><EOB>

    Add a sub program for SAFE travel (P0001).
    O0001(SAFE INDEX PROGRAM)
    G0G40G97G98Xnn.nnn2Znn.nnnT0
    M99

    Adjust Xnn.nnn and Znn.nnn to a safe turret position for rotation as needed.
    Usually we fix this at something like X10.500 Z6.000
    Dependent on your X and Z travel of course.

    We call this out at the beginning and end of EVERY Tool motion.
    You decide what you want, don't wastetime on Post Development.


    Kuyohtay.
    PS
    Sample Program:
    (#500 IS STORED WORK OFFSET // -NN.NNN FROM Z-ZERO)
    %
    O1122(TEST-01)
    N1(RGH TURN)
    G10P0Z#500M64
    M98P1
    M4G97S2000P1T0101
    G0X2.1Z.1Y0
    G50S2500
    G96S600
    G99
    G71U.100R.025
    G71P700Q701U.025W.004F.010
    N700G0X0.
    G1G99Z0.F.004
    X.75,C.1
    Z-1.1,R.05
    X1.7,R.1
    Z-1.5
    N701X2.1
    M98P1
    M30
    %

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    54

    Thanks

    Kuyohtay,
    Thanks for the input, I will now learn about inputing sub progarams. I appreciate the answer and I will let you know how it works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    42

    Also might mention...

    If you have a value in the tool change position in the Post Proc it is getting its info from there if youve put -- in it it will transfer over

Similar Threads

  1. control loss or glitch gorilla cnc
    By woodman08 in forum Gorilla CNC Machines
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 03:02 PM
  2. Centroid M400 Glitch
    By rdoty in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2008, 08:18 PM
  3. VMC ATC Glitch?
    By One of Many in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-03-2007, 12:58 AM
  4. Mach2 & Spindle Motor Relay Glitch
    By Liv2fish2 in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2006, 08:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •