587,006 active members*
3,015 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Deep narrow irregular holes in plastic: what bit?

Deep narrow irregular holes in plastic: what bit?

Hi everyone,

I need to cut irregularly shaped holes in plastic (probably polyethylene or flexible PVC).

Because they need to be very small and precise, I'm planning to buy as benchtop cnc mill.

The nasty thing is that these irregularly shaped holes need to be 1 cm (1/3 inch) (ideally even 2cm) deep but sometimes as narrow in places as 0.5mm (a little more than 1/64 inch).

What kind of cutting bit could do this, and how?

I've seen drill bits this narrow, and I don't mind using an approach of drilling many contigous small holes instead of sideways routing. But I worry that because drill bits are conical at the tip, if the holes overlap too much the tiny drill bit will bend into the existing hole rather than cutting a new one.

I'm totally new to the world of cutting bits and CNC. If I knew the right terminology I could google more on what sizes were available, but I don't ...

Tiny, deep, cutting bits anyone???

Thanks!

Jonathan

I would suggest starting by looking at the machinability of the materials you mentioned. Plastics can be really hard to machine as they can get soft and gummy and will expand as they heat up.

If your stuck ,give me a call and I'll see if I can help you find the proper bits. My contact info is on my website.
    Jeff Birt

Thanks for the reply Jeff - really appreciated.

The parts I'm machining have to be cast/molded, hence why the thermoplastics. I could move to Nylon (much higher melting point) fairly easily if I couldn't get polyethylene or pvc to work.

Moving away from thermoplastics to resin, plaster or white metal would be a hassle, though not impossible if absolutely necessary.