586,089 active members*
3,948 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Feed rate override and Dry run not working

Question Feed rate override and Dry run not working

Hello Friends,

Today was the first time I have been able to set up and run my machine. I have been working on getting it running for a few months. It was pretty cool making a part in my garage.

Anyway the machine is a 1984 Kitamura MyCenter1 with the Fanuc 3M controller. When setting up I noticed I wasn't able to control the feed rate when in JOG mode while cutting jaws. Normally when jogging the feed rate can be controlled with the feed rate override, faster or slower.
    I also tried using the feed rate override while running a program and it didn't slowdown or speed up when turning the knob. This prompted me to try the DRY RUN switch and it didn't work either. I figure they both should be working or Fanuc wouldn't have put them there. I am still learning this older control. Is there a trick or something I need to do to enable them?

Thanks

Look for a button or toggle switch called "OVC". Many machines don't have this switch, but yours might. OVC means "Override Cancel," and it inhibits feedrate override and Dry Run.

You might also have a problem behind the operators panel. If the +24v supply to the panel is lost, then lots of buttons and switches will stop working. Most likely though, if your Jog buttons and other operator panel functions are working, your panel is OK.

Hello Dan,

I have read many of your post replies. You seem to really know your stuff. Anyway I don't see an OVC switch. Many buttons do work, both +- jog buttons, the carousel and CW, CCW spindle buttons. The single block and Op stop toggles work too.

Since these buttons work would this mean the 24 volt supply works? Another question is could there be two 24 volt supplies to the panel and one of them went bad?

Thanks