507,929 active members
3,557 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > fadal vmc 15 spindle lube
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24

    fadal vmc 15 spindle lube

    Hello,

    I have a '97 VMC 15. (just bought it, my 1st). What's the story on spindle lube? I can see the way lube system, and that makes sense. I still need to test that lube is flowing in all lines, but I don't understand the spindle lube system, if it has one. I have searched forums and see where guys talk about grease pack systems but I want to make sure that I lube the machine properly.

    There are 2 regulators mounted below the service disconnect switch. A 1/4" line goes from one of the regulators to a black manifold mounted to the bottom of the transformer cabinet. The line changes to 1/8" inside/1/4" outside and goes up to the column and then down to the spindle and attaches to the spindle at the lower right (+x). This line blows air when the spindle is running. Is this line supposed to be lubricated?

    The previous owner had 3/4" pipe supplying the machine with a Filt/Reg/Lub. that supplied air to "Fadal installed" regulators. I don't know if he was running lube for all the solenoid valves, and the spindle or ?.?.?.

    If it supposed to getting lube, what type of oil should I use.
    The manual isn't very specific on spindle lube.

    Thanks,

    Tim

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    900
    The standard spindle on the VMC 15 is a 7500 rpm setup. The spindle itself is a grease pack spindle and requires no lube. If there is the optional air/oil spindle setup there will be a seccond oil resevouir just above the way lube res. It would used DTE 797 steeam turbine oil.

    Neal

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24
    Thanks Neal,

    And I also learned today that the airline I have is to pressurize the spindle area to keep out contaminants.



    Thanks again,

    Tim

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    17
    Hi Im new in this forum , I can not find where to make new post , so I decide to ask this way. Can somebody show me how to?

    Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. re Spindle Lube and Lube Pump
    By robkuhi in forum Tree
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-24-2011, 06:49 PM
  2. Fadal Spindle
    By ttorqueshop in forum Fadal
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 11:27 PM
  3. Splash lube of spindle bearings
    By bprager in forum Shopmaster/Shoptask
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 10:49 PM
  4. Spindle lube
    By QSIMDO in forum Charter Oak Automation Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 11:23 AM
  5. Spindle lube on 4020
    By Fudd in forum Fadal
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 06:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •