586,110 active members*
3,366 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

What Machine to Buy??

Hi,
    I am thinking of purchasing my first CNC Lathe. I am considering a HAAS SL30 with live tooling or a Doosan Lynx 220LM with Live tooling. I only do small runs, and both machines are very similar price.
    Can someone please shed some light?

I have no experience with the Doosan, but we do have a Haas SL10. I had never run a cnc lathe before but the control is so easy to use I was able to train myself in just a few weeks. We really like the Haas. Hope this helps.

which dealer is the nearest to you that will make it easy service is key if it takes a tech 1-2 days to get to you, that is time down. i know this will sound stupid but what about a okuma they have a big sale on right now that should put them in the price range.

Haas

I would vote on the Haas..

I have run the sl20 with bar feeder since 1999. In that time...one controller board went out...and one axis motor had to be replaced. Mine has the big bore option...so it is 30 hp...like the standard sl-30. On drilling a 3.5 inch hole in aluminum, it can hold the drive at 180% ...if you want to push it.
    Easy to program...all in all...Been a very good machine for me..

Swain

Thanks for your help guys.
    Both dealers are very close. I decided to buy the Doosan, It offers many more features and is better quality. The Lynx 220 also looks very smart, where as the HAAS looks to have bits bolted on everywhere. The Fanuc conversational control is also fantastic.
    If anyone else is looking for a machine, I recommend you have a look at the Doosan Range.
    Cheers.

Fanuc controls suck bawls. Sorry. I spend all day with one on a Mori. I am so happy to get home to run my Haas.

Quote Originally Posted by Fanuc Pilot View Post
    Thanks for your help guys.