586,108 active members*
3,174 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Making a four stage spur gear box? (how to )

HI,I am new to mechanical design.I want to figure out the match required for making a four stage spur gear box.(I read basic spur gear terminology).I require a gear reduction of 254.How shall I figure out the the individual spur gear dimensions?Please guide me.(Thanks in Advance).Also the final o/p torque is 1.6 Nm.

(Thanks in advance)

Its a bit more complicated than that as you have probably found out,I guess we will need to know what size you want to make the gearbox as it may need to fit into a tight space ,or awkard position which will limit the size of the gears and there shafts.Do you want to work in the metric or imperial system,254/1 is quite a reduction if i am understanding you properly.

There are lots of pictures of lathe gear setups floating around here. I can't give you any specific gear info except that such a reduction is complicated as you already know.

I think the way it should be setup is a small gear drives a large gear. another small gear is attached to that large gear and drives another large gear. That is a pretty good reduction right there, but you will need to figure out tooth count to get it precise.
    Lee

I want to make a compound spur gear train which would fit into 5 x 2.5 area and height can be minimal not exceeding 1 cm.I was looking at this page of compound gear trains.
    http://www.roymech.co.uk/Useful_Tabl...ve_trains.html
    But tricky part is finding the no.of teeth on the o/p gear circle and i/p gear circle of a compound spur gear.Also as the gears move towards the o/p shaft in increasing order the Diametrical pitch also should increase to give tooth strength (because I think though one might get a larger reduction by increasing the no.of teeth on the gear with same diameter/radius the tooth size decreases and and its tendency to fracture /ware out also increases).

You3,