586,094 active members*
3,687 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

"Epoxy Granite" industry discution

oh hi im no engineer i didn't even finished grade 10! but im fascinated by the use of Epoxy Granite (lets call it EG) for machines and well everything it can be used for! i haven't read the EG thread (its a bit to much reading for me) but i don't want to talk about its scientific properties or even how to make it i just want to introduce a new thread about what EG means for industry? it seems to me that we rely so much on machines for so much in our world, we have a shortage of skilled tradesman well everywhere and with the economic problems in our world. it seems to me (a simple person) EG should be more utilized more for our world but its not! i know this is a broad subject and some of it has been talked about on other posts but what can EG do to help our industry no our world?

i may be wasting my time (its confusing me) but if anyone else wants to explore this more then lets get this started!

Patrick

Hi Patrick,

I have the same notion since i had followed the EG thread for quite a long time. From my understanding there are many formulas and technical discussion which i say would be basically more scientific for people like me. I would plainly ask the Big minds on the EG thread to give the builders a simple and good approach formula & moulding techique which would be low cost & stonger than the regular castings, so one could easily try them on a small scale for their projects. The Pro's & cons can only be understood when you really make them. Ideas are welcome as i am about to complete my 10' x 5' cnc router project and could use them for building a small cnc turning center which was in my mind for along time now. Definately EG will replace steel castings in the comming years for machine building applications.

Regards,

Vishnu