586,123 active members*
3,548 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Large (4'X10') build based on Chinese CO2 tube

Greetings everyone,

Obligatory first sentence - I'm a long time lurker, first time poster.

Now that that is out of the way, lets get down to business. I'm a leather worker by trade, making punk rock gear like studded belts, bracelets, and collars (not my style, but it pays the bills). Like many of you I am a kind of a "jack of all trades" type. I make or modify most of my own tools. This time I'm going to step into the deep end of the pool and try building a Laser cutter/engraver table in a large format (4' x 10' cutting area). I finally found someone who will finance me up to $2500 for the project, and I'm hoping that it can improve the profit margins of my business enough to pay for itself over time.

Enough background for now. On to the plan.
    • Optical and related parts
      • 80W CO2 tube on ebay ~ $500
      • Matching PSU on ebay ~ $450
      • 4X mirrors on ebay 4x$20 ~ $80
      • Mirror mounts 4x$18 ~ $72
      • Beam combiner off ebay ~ $20
      • focus lens off ebay ~ $65
      • Cooling - full radiator and pump kit off ebay ~ $200
      • SUBTOTAL = $1387
    • Motion, Mechanical and related parts (heres where it gets less clear)
      • 3 axis kit from stepperword ~ $309
      • Belts not sure, maybe ~ $100
      • Gears maybe ~$100
      • Linear shaft with supported rail (mcmaster) 2 x $78 ~ $156
      • DIY Linear bearings (skate bearing style) - $50
      • SUBTOTAL = $715
    • Structural
      • Steel square tube and I beam for most of frame (guessing)~ $250
      • SUBTOTAL = $250
    • Air
      • Air assist for cutting and or keeping lens clear of smoke (guessing) ~ $100
      • SUBTOTAL = $100
    • TOTAL = $2452

I know I'm missing tons of little things like shipping charges, software, bolts, etc... I'm planning on paying for all that stuff out of pocket rather that via the loan.