586,106 active members*
3,245 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thin sheet metal

Hello all,

I'm busy making a small pulsejet engine and have rolled all the cones and tubes from 0.5mm steel sheet. The problem I now have is trying to weld this stuff. I've tried an arc welder with 1.6mm rod and 55amps (as low as it would go), but ended up burning big holes in everything. I have little experience with welding, but know that there must be a solution. I've thought about silver solder, but these engines glow red when running, so I've got a feeling that that may not work. The only equipment that I have available to me is an arc welder.

Any ideas???

Thanks
    Warren

Clamp the sheet to a heavy pipe (1/2" thick) of the same diameter, and step weld. The pipe will act as a heat sink. Just make sure to weld small spots at one time, and let the piece cool between runs. I don't know if this will work, just an idea.

A little tig welder would be nice for a project like that. But that's expensive to get set up.
    If you were considering silver solder, you must have a gas welding outfit available, too. Why not try gas welding (with steel filler)? Or, roll up the edges, to make a butt joint and then fuse them by gas welding (no filler added).
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Available plans

itsme,
    What kind of plans did you use in amking your pulse jet engine?
    When I was in high school, late 50's, I made some steel mandrels for working some steel tubing ot shape for welding.
    I never completed that project.
    I thought the plans and etc were in Popular mechanics or some such magazine of the time.
    Always wanted to revisit that idea.
    Would appreciate any little guidance you might have.
    Thanks.
    DaveP

Hi Dave,