586,115 active members*
3,458 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > High speed toolpaths

High speed toolpaths

Are there toolpath options for Mastercam like this?

http://64.26.25.102/wms/High_Speed_V...pen_Pocket.wmv

Are there real benefits to this style path?

Quote Originally Posted by camtd View Post
    Are there toolpath options for Mastercam like this?

http://64.26.25.102/wms/High_Speed_V...pen_Pocket.wmv

Are there real benefits to this style path?

I have no idea if Mastercam has this feature but I can say very definitely there are advantages to this kind of toolpath. Wade your way through this thread and you will see why I say this.

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73902
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Yes, Mastercam has high speed loops as a type of cutting path. I'm a nOOb when it comes to this stuff but these are the advantages as I understand them:

• The cutter engagement is more constant than more traditional cutter paths. There are no 'corners' where the cutter goes from 45 degrees of engagement to 135 degrees of engagement. If you think about the cutter's flex, suddenly hitting a 90 degree corner in a pocket will cause the load to go wayyyy up. That's going to twist and distort the endmill. At a bare minimum, that could create coining marks in the corner transitions. At worst, it could snap a cutter.
    • You generally have to program your pockets around the peak loads that the cutter experiences in the corners. Since there are no longer 'corners' in your path, you can program closer to the limits of the cutter (depth & radial engagement). That means more efficient material removal (if you apply it properly).