512,728 active members
4,013 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > Tap Stroke Too Short
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9

    Angry Tap Stroke Too Short

    Hello All,

    I just tried tapping today on my Hurco MB1. I am using G code and I keep receiving a "tap stroke too short" message when the tool gets to what I think is the programmed Z depth. I am trying to tap a hole .500 deep , Z0 is the top of the part. I've tried changing both the coordinate in the program and the feed rate. I am assuming feed rate needs to be programmed in IPM and not IPR.

    I am using a 3/8-16 tap and the programmed feed rate is 62.5. I've been a fanuc guy all of my live so this MB1 is new to me.

    Can anyone help me out with this?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    203
    Post the Code you use seems like something is missing!
    I don't know anything about your Hurco(MB1) but may be able to help anyway!
    What are you programming with?
    All comments made are my opinion!

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Rally View Post
    Post the Code you use seems like something is missing!
    I don't know anything about your Hurco(MB1) but may be able to help anyway!
    What are you programming with?
    Shown below is the code that the Hurco Post posted to G Code for Tool 4, which is the 3/8-16 tap:
    I am using Mastercam X3 to create the geometry and post the nc g code.
    The MB1 controller doesnt understand codes between G40 - G49.
    G53 - G59 either.

    I am also not used to seeing X,Y and Z moves in the same line for drilling and tapping canned cycles either.
    The posts I use for our Fanuc controllers at my full time job are written to isolate the Z moves from the X and Y moves.

    By the way... I am trying to startup my own machine shop here in Michigan after 23 years with the same company.

    I am looking for some detail work for this Hurco that I can supplement my current full time income as my salary is being cut this week.

    So any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

    G0 T4 M6
    G0 X1.5 Y-1.5
    S713 M3
    Z.1
    G84 X1.5 Y-1.5 Z.6 F44.6
    X4.5
    G80
    M5
    N40 G0 M25

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    203
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but that code has a bunch of information missing.
    Unless you left that part out, I think there should be Unit of measure, Spindle direction and speed.
    I'm trying to locate our older post and see what it would output.
    Sorry I cannot be of more help.
    All comments made are my opinion!

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Rally View Post
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but that code has a bunch of information missing.
    Unless you left that part out, I think there should be Unit of measure, Spindle direction and speed.
    I'm trying to locate our older post and see what it would output.
    Sorry I cannot be of more help.
    I for one do not think you are wrong. I dont know much the about the Hurco or the post that I used so there may be very well something missing. I didnt remove anything from the tapping code that was posted.
    So I am hoping somebody can help me out as to why this will not work as is.
    If the post needs to be edited I am hoping somebody out here can let me know what needs to be added.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by Rally View Post
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but that code has a bunch of information missing.
    Unless you left that part out, I think there should be Unit of measure, Spindle direction and speed.
    I'm trying to locate our older post and see what it would output.
    Sorry I cannot be of more help.
    Spindle speed and direction are there already. I reckon you have must have an older control than mine being a MB machine, but mine (ultimax II) doesn't need to have units set, since that is set outside the program, and most of the obvious ones are assumed by the control before it starts (G90, G94).

    However, that's my control not yours. If you are unsure, put G90, G94, G70 on the first line to set absolute, IPM feed and inch dimensions.

    However my bet is that your control is looking for a negative z value. I can't recall off the top of my head how mine likes it's G84 formatted.

    Gregor

    Gregor

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by gthlm View Post
    Spindle speed and direction are there already. I reckon you have must have an older control than mine being a MB machine, but mine (ultimax II) doesn't need to have units set, since that is set outside the program, and most of the obvious ones are assumed by the control before it starts (G90, G94).

    However, that's my control not yours. If you are unsure, put G90, G94, G70 on the first line to set absolute, IPM feed and inch dimensions.

    However my bet is that your control is looking for a negative z value. I can't recall off the top of my head how mine likes it's G84 formatted.

    Gregor

    Gregor
    I don't do on the G-Code side that much and the Company quit using the older hurco in that way. I'm still trying to locate our old Post.
    about the Z!! After you said that I think you are correct.
    I'm gonna try to switch my machine over tonight and see if I can get it going.
    But we have Ultimax3 and WinMax Controllers.
    All comments made are my opinion!

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by DonK View Post

    Thanks.

    G0 T4 M6
    G0 X1.5 Y-1.5
    S713 M3
    Z.1
    G84 X1.5 Y-1.5 Z.6 F44.6
    X4.5
    G80
    M5
    N40 G0 M25
    Shouldn't your Z.6 be negative. Z-.6

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    I noticed the positive too and changed it to -.6.
    It doesnt seem to matter what I put in there.
    It still is coming up the tap stroke too small error.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    30
    Looks like the calculated feed rate is incorrect. At 713 R.P.M. the feed should be 44.5625 ipm. I.P.M.= R.P.M/T.P.I or (1/T.P.I)xR.P.M
    It is the poor craftsman that blames the tool

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    30
    Oops, I saw the feedrate in the first post as 62.5. My bad, sorry
    It is the poor craftsman that blames the tool

Similar Threads

  1. F1, motorcycle, short stroke type engines.
    By elmerfud in forum I.C. Engines
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 07:46 AM
  2. two stroke engine
    By PoWaKiD42 in forum I.C. Engines
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 06:59 AM
  3. anybody with 2 stroke plans
    By stem fan1 in forum I.C. Engines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-28-2007, 02:08 PM
  4. 2 stroke porting
    By Tom Brown in forum I.C. Engines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 08:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •