586,121 active members*
3,524 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > How do I set up part zero and tool offsets on a CNC mill?

Question How do I set up part zero and tool offsets on a CNC mill?

Hi, I am new to CNC milling and I have a Fanuc 3M controlled AccuMill from the 80’s. We have a person coming in this weekend to train us on CNCing but I was wondering if there is any material on the Internet on how to do the following things.

Set tool compensations & offsets.

Set part zero & Machine Zero.

The manuals and books we have primarily focus on programming and has little to no info about setting up the mill for running a job.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank You

Adam

What you are asking takes quite a lot of explaining; try doing a search here on CNCzone this type of thing has been discussed before.

After you have had your training come back with specific questions otherwise you are likely to get buried with too much information.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

The first question I have is...

I am milling an Aluminum block that’s 6" x 6" with a 0.5" End Mill. The block is 1" deep and 0.5" of the block is sticking up from the vise.

What part of the block do I place the End Mill on to set part zero for X & Y? In my CAD CAM software the left top front corner is part 0.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Geof View Post
    What you are asking takes quite a lot of explaining; try doing a search here on CNCzone this type of thing has been discussed before.

After you have had your training come back with specific questions otherwise you are likely to get buried with too much information.

You need to use the same reference point in the machine as you use for the drawing; in your case the top left front corner.