586,655 active members*
2,023 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Short courses on CNC operation?

Short courses on CNC operation?

Hello,

So there's a recent post by me that should be close to this one that explains that I'm looking to learn to use a benchtop CNC to mill some PCBs. Since I wrote that, I've stumbled upon some good fortune. My company may be willing to sponsor me for a short (i.e. not an entire academic semester; most likely on the order of a week or so) course to learn to use our CNC. Does anyone know of anything that might apply?

I'm self-taught when it comes to machining, and almost all of my time has been on Sherline devices, but I have done a few hours of work on full sized machines. I read through the Sherline publications and use some other texts as reference. I have a lot of programming experience, and a lot of electronics experience.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Ubarch View Post
    Hello,

So there's a recent post by me that should be close to this one that explains that I'm looking to learn to use a benchtop CNC to mill some PCBs. Since I wrote that, I've stumbled upon some good fortune. My company may be willing to sponsor me for a short (i.e. not an entire academic semester; most likely on the order of a week or so) course to learn to use our CNC. Does anyone know of anything that might apply?

I'm self-taught when it comes to machining, and almost all of my time has been on Sherline devices, but I have done a few hours of work on full sized machines. I read through the Sherline publications and use some other texts as reference. I have a lot of programming experience, and a lot of electronics experience.

Thanks!