586,358 active members*
3,471 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Please help find good CNC...

Please help find good CNC...

I'm coming into about 25,000 and I need to find a good CNC milling center. I have little knowledge on CNC's but good abilities with CAD and Verticle Mills.

Can someone point me to a place where I can buy a good one and won't be charged an arm and a leg?

Also pointers on good brand.

Thanks much,

Devin

Well what are your requirements for the mill? Metal, wood, work area size? There are many good machining centers out there in your price range. I would look for one that has tool holders and other related items with it. Other wise set aside a few thousand aside for these items.

Thanks, I'm looking to automate my work. I craft alum and copper parts no larger than 6x6x6. I'm hoping for fadal I think.

Well with that work envelope you can pretty much use about anything. Couple of my recomendations. Get a machine with the highest spindle speed possible. I picked my Bostomatic up for just over $9,000 + shipping. It has a 3 hp low speed spindle 350-7000 rpm (40 taper) and a 2hp 10,000-40,000 rpm (20 taper) spindle. Hydralic drawbar on each head. 20 40 taper tool holders, and 15 20 taper holders with multiple collets. Flood cooling, and mist cooling, 10mb harddrive, dnc capable, High speed mode with 75 line look ahead, custom canned shapes.Table is 48x12 and travels are 18x12x12. It is a boxway machine, with a low pitch ball screw so max traverse is 100 ipm, and max cutting at 100 ipm. When we set it up, the backlash is .0000732 !! It cuts dead acurate. I regularly cut copper, steel, aluminum, I have made a few titanium parts as well. You will have many options. just remember that shippping and rigging will cost and factor that in if you need to ship the unit very far.

Bosto's are great and accurate machines. Is Boston Digital still in business?