586,106 active members*
3,002 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Daewoo/Doosan > Milling using main & sub-spindle

Milling using main & sub-spindle

Hello everybody.
    I'm a newbie here to this forum. I hope somebody can help me with this problem. I using a daewoo/doosan 2000sy 18i fanuc control.
    I'm trying to mill two flats 13" long on a shaft 180 deg of each other. I can't get the sub & main spindle to synchronize a c-axis movement on both spindles. Has any one tryed to do this and can you give me a sample of the program. m204,m205,m206 is for spindle direction when turning, there is nothing in the book about how to program milling using both spindles for support.

I have had the same problem the way we get around it is to unchamp the sub be for we rotate the main spindle (c axis) you may need to call m131 to let the program to run with the sub spindle unclamped

I don't have your machine but I've seen this issue in Swiss and thier usaully is two options and one is before the index to hit two wait codes and index them together and the other is opening the Sub and let the main index and re-clamp. I would try calling Doosan of even Fanuc if you can't resolve this fast.

Thumbs up I'm contacting daewoo

Thanks for your good suggestion, I thought of that already. But, I need the sub spindle to stay clamped because I'm using a aluminum sleeve over the part so I will not damage the part. It is a carbide tipped drill that I am chucking over. If I unchuck, the sleeve might fall inside flute and chuck crooked.

Thanks Again !!!

Interesting question - Not having ever ran a sub spindle before, it appears that you are saying that it is locked (rotation wise) unless an RPM or degree is commanded? So, IOW, it doesn't act like a "live" center and allow the main spindle to set the angle, and only act as a clamp on the other end?