587,012 active members*
3,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > CNC Machinning parts that are too big for the CNC range??

CNC Machinning parts that are too big for the CNC range??

Ok I am new to the table tops CNCs but am very curious. So my question of the day is if the part in question is bigger than the range of motion what are the techniques of CNCing it? Say my CNC X moves 14' only. I have a part that is 15' wide. I can clip the part to the table for machinning but my G code calls for longer CNC ranges than the machine is capable of. What do I do?

Quote Originally Posted by zaebis View Post
    Ok I am new to the table tops CNCs but am very curious. So my question of the day is if the part in question is bigger than the range of motion what are the techniques of CNCing it? Say my CNC X moves 14' only. I have a part that is 15' wide. I can clip the part to the table for machinning but my G code calls for longer CNC ranges than the machine is capable of. What do I do?
    "Say my CNC X moves 14' only. I have a part that is 15' wide." - Wow! That's some big machine! Must be one helluva big table it's sitting on! :-)

You can do it, but it's a PITA. You have to generate the G-code in two sections, keeping each within the limits of the machine. Then you have to re-position the piece between the two programs, and figure out how to get it precisely aligned in both cases, so the "splice" lines up well. It's not easy, and it's not fun. Ideally, you want to make sure you provide reference holes or surfaces to use for the alignment, and how well the "splice" lines up will be almost entirely a function of how accurately you align the part to the machine (well, assuming your machine is good and square, which is often not the case on these little machines).

Regards,
    Ray L.

good answer /\ done it a few times, PITA is right.