586,067 active members*
5,340 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

MITS MELDAS 520AM trying to go to China!

I have a Comet VMC I acquired last July, and have been working on it off, and on since..... I now have it running consistently, but have found an annoying trait, which I am sure is something I am doing.....

Every time I change tools, the thing will run the Z axis to about 3 in below the part zero position, before coming back up to the normal z-up depth, after which it runs fine until I do another tool change ..... disconcerting to say the least!!

As long as I position the XY such that there is room for this "excursion", before doing a tool change, it runs fine ......

Idea's as to what I'm doing wrong??? I'm new to the Mits control, as all of my other machines are Haas.

Dave

Perhaps this is a result of a cancellation of the tool length offset? Haas is pretty convenient in this regard, as it has a couple of different systems to reckon the tool length offset.

I am not sure what kind of tool change macro the Mits uses, but you might try adding in a return to Z home before you call for the next tool. This should lift the tool well up and out of the way so that if it does a curtsy, it won't hit anything.

Another possibility to check for, would be a parameter setting which affects whether the tool length offset executes as an immediate discrete machine motion, or whether it combines with the next movement of the axis. I know Mits lathe has a parameter to this effect, don't know about mill.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)