586,036 active members*
3,636 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Should I bother learning V22?

Should I bother learning V22?

Here's a little backgound:
    I am a job shop owner.
    I already own a copy of V22 with Mill, Lathe and Art.
    I have no prior CAD CAM experience.
    I currently program at the machine using HAAS Intutive Programming System & G-code.
    I will be using it to make a living.
    I'm on a limited budget.
    I have the appropriate computer hardware to run any software.

Here's what I'm looking for:
    A short learning curve and ease of use.
    I want to draw or import and program 2.5D Mill now.
    I want to draw or import and program lathe down the road
    I want to draw or import and progam 3D down the road.
    Sofware that will grow with me.

My options as I see it:
    Learn what I have.
    Upgrade to V23 (better? easier?)
    Sell what I have and buy something different (Dolphin, Featuremill etc...)
    Save up and hold out for something better (Gibbs, Matercam etc...)

I want to do this right from the start so I don't have to unlearn bad habits (like my golf game!). I'm looking for any guidance or suggestions.
    Thanks

If you have not invested time in to v22, I would answer "No". My understanding is that V23 is much more stable, and overall "better". There are problems with V22 that were never solved.