586,103 active members*
3,557 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 4 123

Shop rates for HAAS TM-1

I am setting up a small machine shop. I have a HAAS TM-1 Mill.

I have a good business plan and a complete understanding of most aspects of job-shop environments like machine shops.

However, I have no experience in the industry and would like to get some idea of what people are charging for this type of equipment.

My guess is the rate is something in the range of $85.00 per hour.

Any information that someone may have would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Bloefeld

Wayyyy too little information to go on. First off: are you talking about $US or $Cdn? Are you just going to hang a shingle out and hope for local business? Bidding on here (RFQ)? Have your own products? Are you after high tolerance work or just general stuff? What is your local competition? Is this your only machine? What is your monthly overhead? What do you need to earn in order to eat?

$85 sounds low to me if it's your only machine and your only source of income.

Have you been watching this thread?
    http://cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78445
    Greg

Good questions. I am in Edmonton Alberta. The mill is my only machining tool, and was purchased to do prototyping for research and development.

Since I have it, and it is now possible to find skilled people to work in my shop, I thought it may be interesting to start into the field with this equipment as my starting point.

As I develop a feel for the market and for the industry I can deploy more capital to make this a going concern instead of a boat anchor.

The machine is incidental to my income, but I am hoping it can be an opportunity for me to hire someone skilled with the right background who can make a living with the machine and perhaps grow the company with me.

I will check out the link you sent and I thank you for your help.

Cheers,

Bloefeld