586,094 active members*
3,830 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

pressing aluminum into an aluminum tube

I am new here and would like to thank everyone for their knowledge and info.

I am also new to machining, self taught / youtube.

I am having trouble pressing an aluminum 6061 reducer into an aluminum 6061 tube, and keeping it square. The tube is 1.5" od x 1.361" id +/- 0.004" . The reducer I have been turning down to 1.363" OD x 1.25" long reduced to 1.009" OD x 1.25" long with a 0.8125" ID and attempting to press it into the tube. The tube is 15" long, but the reducer only needs to press into the tube 1.25" until it is flush with the edge of the tube.

I have tried turning the tube on my lathe, to square up both ends. Then pressing the reducer in on my 10 ton c press. This ends up being a couple hundreths of an inch out From one end of the tube to the other.

I also tried to press the reducer into the tube and then turn it down to the 1.009", but I must not have had my steady rest set up right. Because, the cut was out of round.

I am looking for any advice on getting this squared up or tricks for pressing it together. I can post pictures later if that would help.

I have also thought about turning down a piece of solid aluminum to 1.353" x 16" long. This way I could press the reducer into the tube a little past flush. Then flip the tube over and stick the reducer through the hole on the press plate. Next place the solid 1.353" down the tube and press it tight against the plate. I have not tried this yet.

thank you for any advice.

heh i dont know about maching and stuff but i was just workin on the balljoints on my car and havin trouble pressing them in and what i was told was chamfer the edges of both pieces and stick the cap part of it in the freezer for a good while and let it shrink up some. after that the parts should go together like ...well two things that go together well
    :wee: