586,946 active members*
2,695 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Cutter compensation woes!!

I am a new operator of a Unisign machine (model # unknown), which uses the Siemens programming language. I have a problem cutting a CCW radius with left-hand cutter compensation active. The problem arises when the machine reads ahead and give me a "wrong block" error message for the CCW radius. This is what I've programmed:

G58 x15 y-3.375
    G0 X0 Y0
    Z.2
    G1 Z-.8
    G41 X0 Y2
    X-3
    G3 X-4 Y1 J-1 (this is the line that give the machine the error)

I'm having a hard time determining whether the J is the correct radius variable, or should I use the I for the radius? This has stumped me for a long time, and I really would like to know once and for all how to use the I and J.

I and J are the X and Y coordinates of the arc center, so you need both values, typically correct to whatever tolerance the machine is capable of holding.

You also need to know whether the control expects those arc center coordinates to be incremental (relative to the arc endpoint), or whether they must be absolute coordinates, based on the work datum.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

So for the arc that I've programmed, do I need to put both I and J in the line to let the machine know that the X and Y are changing, due to the 1" radius?
    Or do I only need the I or J on the line to correspond to one axis?

I'm cutting out an 8"x4" rectangular pocket w/1" radius corner in the center of a hot-rolled steel plate.

Bear with me. I learned programming from a fellow employee who didn't have a good grasp on cutter compensation himself, and I haven't been able to take time to use scrap metal and test programming functions to see how they work.

The standard arc format is:
    G02 XYIJ
    or
    G03 XYIJ