586,096 active members*
3,696 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Help required please

Hello Everyone, I don't know if I am posting under the right section or not. I have looked and this seemed the most appropriate.

I am a novice 'CNC'er' and I am attempting to cut a number of components using a AXYZ Millennium router (a 2001 edition -I think) on which I am cutting 12mm plywood using a 6mm three flute cutter. I using a feed speed of 450mm/sec (doesn't travel 450mm per second though) and a plunge speed of 300mm/sec. However I am getting error code 11 when I am setting the cut bottom and top and the surface height (function 4+8) and error code 45 when seeking X and Y origins (function 12). Also I am snapping router bits when cutting. I am not sure why this is, everything is tight, the correct collet is being used, and the work is securely held down using the vacuum bed. Please can someone help identify the meanings of the error codes etc and a possible reasons to why bits are snapping so readily...I have gone through 3 x 6mm bits today without actually managing to cut any components.

Any help will be greatly appreciated,

Thanks

Powely

Get hold of the machine manual. There has to be some instructions on how to set it up, and the meaning of error codes.

As for bits breaking, are you running the spindle anywhere near 50,000 rpm? Hint: calculate how many turns the bit makes (at your spindle speed) when the material moves 1 inch. How much chipload does each cutting edge have to take per rotation? Is it a reasonable number?
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Hi, thanks for your reply. I do have the manual but it doesn't say what the error codes are (or at least I can't find them?), however when the error code comes up it does say to consult the manual. *confused*