586,111 active members*
3,584 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > Machine Created Art > My Pen Tablet hates me!!

My Pen Tablet hates me!!

Hi! I'm new on the site, and this is actually the first forum which I participate in, so let me introduce myself a little and tell you 'bout the issue that brings me here. I don't know where my question fits, in what "tab" should I post it, so I write to you just to see if you could please guide me a little. Sorry if my english ain't too good.

I'm a Spanish woodworker, I get my kicks sanding and finishing furniture in family's factory, and although CNC routing/machining isn't actually 100% my bussiness, it has come incredibly useful to me in the guitar building field, my real passion.

I can cut, rout and drill wooden solid bodies as well as the fingerboards easily, now that I've been practising for some time. But now I would like to go further and rout my own custom and more artistical drawings and inlays in my projects. In order to do so, I bought myself a pen tablet, and here is where my little trouble begins.

Our CNC, (Egurko-Ortza DART-700, equipped with Viesse software, if it rings any bell) is able to handle .dxf files, if they have been created as an AutoCad R12's dxf, so logically I do my desinging (?) work with that program's newer version, which is still able to save as R12's dxf.

But when I came to plug-in my brand new tablet, an inexpesive Bamboo-One, and try that "ancient unknown" AutoCad's command: _sketch, I found a hard to control, imprecise and awfully shaky interface. I'm not able to draw like that, even when I stick a little template in the tablet as a guide to follow the outer lines with the pen, the results are something that make me wanna cry in despair.

So my questions are:

Am I using the wrong command line? Does anybody know a better way of "freehand" drawing in AutoCad?