586,042 active members*
3,777 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Dovetails and Spring Plungers

Dovetails and Spring Plungers

I'm trying to make an adjustable plate for a tripod and I'm going to use the standard 60 degree dovetails. The dovetail needs to fit smooth with very little if no play at all. I am an accomplished machinist but never having made dovetails before I'm not sure how easy it is to get a tight fit that moves easy. Or since most machines use a gib is there always a need to have an adjustment. This is not machinery that's being made so the unit won't be moving all day long. I do have anodizing setup and it will be anodized for wear protection.

Now having said that, in my mind there will probably be a need for some kind of ajustment to make the dovetails fit nice. I'd prefer if it didn't use gibs and grease. So what I'm asking is I found this on Kipps website, it's called a spring plunger and I wondering if it could be used as an adjustment, coming in from the side and use the ball as a ball bearing to keep tension on the dovetail but still move easily.

Here is the web addy and a pic.
    http://www.kipp.com/cms/wm?catId=231...xtFamily=false
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Spring Plunger.jpg  

It will work but the ball makes contact on a very small area, actually unless the metal it contacts deforms the area is infinitesimally small. Aluminum will deform even when it is anodized, and eventually the ball will create a score mark and may tend to gall up.

Possibly a better approach would be to put a Delrin plastic plug ahead of the ball so the ball presses against the plastic with the plastic being the part that slides on the anodized surface.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.