513,202 active members
4,098 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Mills > how to delete a corrupt program hs1?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    25

    Question how to delete a corrupt program hs1?

    I have a corrupt program that shows on the program list with an exclamation point beside it and it causes and alarm when I first turn on the machine or send a different file to the machine. It will accept the new programs but always gives two alarms. I have tried to delete the program but it gives a alarm about corrupt program and doesnt delete. I even tried deleting all at once and it deleted the programs until it reached the corrupt one and gave the alarm and stopped. Im still able to operate the machine but the problem is bothersome. I also cant view or edit this program. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10699
    Hi The CNC Noob

    This is what a lot have been talking about here on the Zone that the control can be corupted quite easy
    if something/program like this is down loaded I'm surprised that you are able to run the control at all

    Do you have the hard drive option If you do I think this is were the problems are coming from

    Call Haas support & they will walk you through some steps you have to do if this does not work the whole system will have to be reloaded I hope that will get it fixed for you

    If you have the hard drive option & this happens again have the hard drive board taken out & this will not happen again
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    It is possible to get corrupt programs on a Haas without a hard drive. Certain key sequences in the editor will corrupt the program that is being edited.

    Normally it is possibel to save everything to disk, Delete ALL, then reload from the disk. Sometimes this is not possible and you have to get the controller operating system reloaded after a complete purge of the system.

    If you have already tried the delete all and found it will not work the only suggestion I have is try to load a program of the same name from a floppy and see if you can overwrite the corrupted program with a good one. This worked for me once, but several times I have had to have a machine lobotomized to get rid of a corrupt program.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks for the good advice. It doent have the hard drive option so I will try to overwrite the program with a new one and see what happens.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10699
    Hi Geof

    Thanks for your input on this I thought for a while I was alone on this subject of corupt programs on a Haas control, I know that there are others out there that have had the control on there Haas machines that have got coruped by ether a down load or something that can happen when a program is edited on the control I have not seen many that don't need a reload of the control software to fix it
    Mactec54

  6. #6
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    I'd like to know why Haas doesn't have a memory scanning utility (like a hex editor) to check memory and permit specific overwriting of bad characters. Maybe they do? Seems like an fundamental requirement of building your own operating system?
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by HuFlungDung View Post
    I'd like to know why Haas doesn't have a memory scanning utility (like a hex editor) to check memory and permit specific overwriting of bad characters. Maybe they do? Seems like an fundamental requirement of building your own operating system?
    They do. It is what a "CRC" alarm is (Cycle/Cyclic Redundancy Check). It's just a simple form of checking and it occurs at power on.
    The parameters, settings, language, programs and several other things are checked.
    Most common is a Program Ram CRC alarm. There are a ton of things that can cause it (power brown out while making an edit or while in edit mode or having too many programs in memory).

    Keeping backups externally from the machine is really the only way to ba safe.

    In most cases perform the following to correct.
    Go to setting 23 and turn it off.
    Back up programs.
    Highlight ALL in List programs page.
    Press Erase Programs.
    Select Yes to All.
    Power off machine.
    Power back on.
    Reload
    Turn setting 23 back on.



    Loose Nut

  8. #8
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    Well yes a CRC is a check of memory but its not exactly a utility to fix corrupt memory. I'm thinking something more along the line of scandisk or some-such.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    Well yes a CRC is a check of memory but its not exactly a utility to fix corrupt memory. I'm thinking something more along the line of scandisk or some-such.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Re: how to delete a corrupt program hs1?

    I have the same problem. Did you figure out how to delete it?

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Delete program on Fanuc 21i-T ?
    By Rmio29 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2019, 06:29 PM
  2. V23 corrupt
    By FUBAR62172 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 03:08 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 12:39 AM
  4. Corrupt program issues
    By patnok in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 03:05 AM
  5. Corrupt Software
    By ericwaa in forum Milltronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-08-2009, 10:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •