586,117 active members*
3,606 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Stepper Motor Controller Questions

Stepper Motor Controller Questions

New here, hope this is the right section

Anyways, I'm wanting to make a small scale CNC machine, which I already have designed and am in the process of constructing it. I need a stepper motor controller, that will be running 3 unipolar stepper motors. I don't mind building it myself if I need to. I basically need the most inexpensive controller possible that is capable of doing this. I was looking at the Linistepper, as well as one on www.instructables.com (located HERE), but I'm just looking for some input. Thanks

I have no experience using other unipolar boards than the HCNCPro from HobbyCNC. It is an "All-In-One" board with 3 (or 4) drivers and parallel port connection. I can just say that I have been very satisfied with its performance during the years and it is cheap.

You have to assemble it youself, but it's fairly easy and comes with well explained intructions how to do it. You will be able to join a specific user group where you can get all the help you want.

If you have the money, another option would be the G540 from Geckodrive. It is a 4 axis drive with BOB like the HCNC. It is a bi-polar drive, but I think that your steppers would hook up with it. (you could tell us which steppers you have). For several reasons, its performance vs price is really hard to beat. Especially now where GD have their annual costumer appreciation sale.

Good luck

Brian

Alright, thank you very much for your input. I like the look of the HCNCPro. Not to sound cheap, but is there any other more inexpensive options? This is my first CNC, so I don't need anything major, and just want something inexpensive to get it operational before I work on upgrading different components of it.