586,119 active members*
3,699 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

feeds and speeds

i really need help with speeds and feeds. i've been machining for 8 years now and i have only taken up an entry level trades training. when i started working, there was no machinist employed so i had to learn by trial and error. my problem is when milling , my endmills don't last very long. i use carbide endmills and i mill steel and stainless steel. after 2 or 3 cuts, either the endmill has broken or has chipped its edges. the machines i operate are all CNC's. i've tried the formula CS x 4/DIA. and rpm x IPT x no. of teeth, but i still keep getting these problems. We do mostly R&D work. just this afternoon, i was flycutting a 3/4 thick 6 x 10 steel plate, cutting .070 depth. after 2 passes, the inserts have chipped. Is there a rule that I can use to calculate speeds and feeds, and depth of cut. i think it's the depth of cut and the corresponding feed that really stumps me.

Lito,

Here is a link to ME Consultant, I think it is still free but he is just now upgrading to a Pro version that he will be selling, I have used them both and find the Pro version has much needed enhancements.

Do your self a favor and get it, when the Pro version is released purchase it.

http://www.mrainey.freeservers.com/

me consultant

thanks ken. i will try it

Feeds and Speeds

Hmm... I had to cut some slots in a 1.00 steel plate for tooling, the spindle horse power was 15hp. I was using a 3/4 rouging end mill. The machine didn't flinch. After about an 1.00 of travel the tool broke. Hmm... This changed how I approched my feeds and speeds.

I look at unit horse power per cubic inch per minute. I assign values to my tools based on dia and length. Dia based in the square of the dia. And length based in the cube of the length. The formula I use is not in any book. dia^5/length^3. And the limit not to be more than dia^2. (i.e. The tool length not calculated for shorter than the tool dia.)