586,089 active members*
3,893 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Questions about a new build

I've been lurking for quite some time and finally decided to join these forums a few minutes ago. I have background in this area but I've never built a DIY CNC machine before. After looking at all of the possible choices, I am currently leaning toward a Joe's 4x4, but I have a ton of questions as the website is sorely lacking in information and these forums do not have a centralized place for a first timer to gather all of it by themselves. I'm not trying to be rude or anything, but it's true I think.

Anyway, concerning the Joe's 4x4, here are the questions I have. If anyone has the time and patience to answer some of them for me I would greatly appreciate it.

1) First and foremost, the plans on his website are extremely mysterious. There is no information available about what the kit provides and what it does not. Yes, there is a picture, but that's it. If I were to buy that kit, what would I be lacking in terms of the physical structure? All I can tell from the picture is it obviously doesn't come with the extrusions, but I have no idea what else is missing and I'm not going to spend $100 on plans to find out I need another $500 worth of parts on top of the kit to simply build the structure.

2) If I were in fact going to buy the plans, do they provide answers to all of the questions like "what leadscrew do I need?", "what motors should I be using?", "what controller do I need?", "what router do I need?", etc. etc. If that information is not provided in the plans, then what do the plans actually do for me other than give me a list of parts that I already bought in the kit and forum access? The bottom line is if I pay $100 for a set of documents I want it to have 'all' of the answers to basic questions and I'm wondering if someone can verify this for me.