586,632 active members*
2,796 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie question

I have read alot in this forum and am very impressed with what I have seen. I build wodden clocks for my hobby and am very interested in creating a CNC cutter. I have been cutting gears on a scroll saw for a few years and its such a pain. It would be nice to have a 99.9% perfect gear the first cut, especially when your cutting 100+ teeth. Mostly I use hard woods and acrylic. I have seen the JGRO DIY plans and some stuff on hobbyCNC.com. The largest gear I cut is about 12 inches and thats rare. I just want some basic info on what would best suit my needs and be the most cost effective. Thank you.

Like this, my first cut on my Jgro machine. This was from a DXF from Garys wooden clocks site Garys 2003 clock took about 10 minutes to cut in 1/4 ply, unfortunately a 3mm cutter is too big and the bottoms of the small gear were not cut properly.
    When I build another driver I may try again, My homebuilt X axis just blew up :frown:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC.jpg  

Small cuts

Something I have tried....Use a small drill bit and SLOW movement for little cuts. A finishing nail filed to a sharp edge will work too. Used both methods with my drill press to clean up small corners.

Hey Clockmaster, I recently met this guy who sells his hand made clocks for many thousands of dollars. He told me that he makes the gears using a gear cutting machine.
    He cuts 10 or more gears at a time. He uses a high desity compressed timber compound for the gears, and puts a thin laminate on the front of them. Essentially you see only the teeth. He tells me that these gears could go for a 100 years without wearing. Unfortunately I can only find a small picture of the process he uses. In this case it is much better than the CNC option you are thinking about, and also cheaper.