587,040 active members*
2,910 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Scratch building - request opinions/ideas

Scratch building - request opinions/ideas

Hey all... I posted this request in the general forum a week ago, but I've updated my plans a bit since then and I'll try again here.

I have been using a mini mill and mini lathe for about four years, and I acquired a Grizzly G4000 lathe two years ago. I still have all three. I've run into the limitations of my current machines and I've decided to build a small CNC mill. Originally I was going to convert my X2 mill, but I decided it would be better and cheaper to scratch build, not to mention more fun and a better learning experience.

So far I've decided to make it a bit larger workspace wise than the X2, partly due to the parts I've found. I'll be using it for CNC milling aluminum, plastic, and some steel, although I realize steel cutting will be limited in some ways.

Here are the parts I've collected so far:
    • 2x Universal thread lead screws, X grade, with nuts - new
    • 1 THK "caged" ball screw/rail combination, I think model "SK" - brand new
    • Two Superior Slo-Syn stepper motors, 300 oz-in, 8 wire - used
    • two "unknown" round steppers, probably 100-150 oz-in
    • Four sections of Schneeberger rail, new, no carriages/trucks
    • 5 feet (!) of thomson 1 inch round linear rail with bearing carts
    • Lots of stainless steel plate and parts from a lab machine
    • a Hobbycnc controller (not gonna use probably)
    • A 1.5 HP DC treadmill motor
    • A DC motor controller rated to 1.5HP
    • A spare 2 ghz computer to run Mach3
    • Plenty of electronic parts... switches, wire, etc.