586,068 active members*
3,706 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: charge pump

Page 1 of 2 12

charge pump

Hi all,
    You’ll have to excuse my ignorance here but I’m very new to CNC.
    I have an X2 on which I have installed a belt drive, CNCfusion #4 ball screw kit, Nema23 381 oz-in stepper motors, a Gekodrive G540 and I am using Mach3.
    I’m at the stage of wiring the motors up to the drive unit and setting up Mach3.
    My question is what is a "charge pump"?? Is it something to turn on a coolant pump “if you have one” or does it apply to something else? Do I need to have it switched on or off if I don’t have a coolant pump?
    Thanks

Its basically a safety device on the G540 to keep electrical noise from making unwanted moves of your stepper motors. I have the G540 and have the charge pump switched off and have never had any issues with any motors moving.

Starleper1, Thanks for the prompt reply. "so much information, so little time"

It has nothing to do with the coolant pump, but is a safety circuit designed so your machine can't move until it's under control by the Mach software.

Mach sends a signal to a breakout board telling the board that is has control of the machine. This signal tells the breakout board that the computer is on and Mach software is up and running which will allow your breakout board to send power to your stepper drives and spindle board if wired correctly. You have to have a breakout board that has this feature and the board has to be wired up to take advantage of this feature. It is not just a setting in the software.