586,058 active members*
4,290 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 9 123

Diy Spindle Motor Controler

I have a 130vdc treadmill motor that I am going to make a controler for.

I was thinking H-bridge mosfet driver with following criteria: Fwrd,revers and braking. with feadback control to controler (mach2 is my current choice) and the motor I am using is a 2.5Hp continious duty 130vdc 18.5amp.

That being said, I know there are probably drivers out there for this app. but I would like to DIY for learning experience.

So for the only controlers on the market I have found in a doable price range are non feedback or have on board style feed back that is SOOO slow to react as to not be usfull, or have a price tag that is in the stratosphere.

There are serveral H bridge schematics on the net but so far the only ones that I have seen are for low power robotics, nothing on the scale I need.

Since I am relatively new to electronics design, any suggestions would be helpfull. And who knows if we all put enough suggestions (group) in we could probably put a good set of plans up for everyone to use.

My main weakness in design is not knowing the proper chips for this there are so damn many mosfets and mosfet controler chips out there it will take eons to sort through them.

thanks
    Michael T.

This is a pretty ambitious project due to the high voltage and current requirements. The mosfets that can handle this power level won't come cheap and you can easily fry 20-30 them to perfect the circuit. This is not something that can be expected to work the first time around.

Are you sure the motor is actually 2.5hp continuous? That's more current than what the typical 120v outlets can provide.

Why not start smaller, like 5 amps or so. A suitable mosfet might be the irf460. Did you come across possible bridge gate driver chips? I suspect that line powered ones are not that common.