586,080 active members*
3,771 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Talking Cricut Hack A new Heart

I wanted to learn more about CNC stuff and get into Mach and EMC, so I got a couple of dead Cricuts for parts (They're really cheap off Ebay now). I also got a good Cricut so I could compare results. I want more control than ProvoCraft allows and Sure Cuts Alot is a good stop gap for now, but I want more, hence Mach and the others that are more generic.

At the Moment I'm trying to add a Toshiba TB6560AHQ driver to an Original Cricut. Once that works, I got a 12"x24" that I'll use. It of course uses the parallel port for interfaceing. I'm still looking at exactly how to hook up the 6 wire motor to 4 wire controller. It says it works with motors with up to 8 wires, but it's not obvious to me how. Am I losing some accuracy using less wires? Besides being a CNC newbie, I'm also electronics newbie when it comes to circut level stuff, so most goes way way over my head, but I want to start learning.