586,123 active members*
3,231 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Rotate 3D Profile/Tool length Comp.
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220

    Rotate 3D Profile/Tool length Comp.

    Hi
    I have a 3Axis mill with a Fagor 8055 controller.
    I am a newbie and trying to write G-Code to rotate a profile.
    The profile is a 3D path of 450 lines which needs to be passed along 12 times at 1mm Z levels.
    Rather then duplicate the profile 12 times with corrected Z figures, I want to repeat the profile and alter the Z level.
    Can this be done by altering the Tool Length Compensation.
    This is a sample of what I have (may be all wrong):
    Many Thanks
    Kiwi.

    N100 (IF(P1 EQ -1)P1 = -2) ;??
    (IF(P1 EQ 0)P1 = -1) ;??
    N200 G00 X0 Y0 Z15
    G43 ZP1 ;?? Set Z Compensation
    ;(Start of Path)
    G01 X0 Y0 Z0 ;Sample Only
    X20 Y5 Z-7 ;Sample Only
    X30 Y8 Z-12 ;Sample Only
    ;(End of Path)
    N400 G00 Z15
    X0 Y0
    (RPT N100, N400) N3
    G44 ;?? Canel Z Compensation
    N500 G73 Q10
    (RPT N100, N500) N3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    499

    Huh?........

    How about showing us a sketch and the code you have
    so we can better understand.
    PEACE

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi Hardmill, Thanks,

    Shortened version.

    JPEG & Txt files attached.

    Regards
    Kiwi
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17

    Loop

    Suggest.
    Make a loop.
    Set #1=0 (Loop counter)
    Set #2=1 (Cutting depth)
    While #1 LE 12 DO 1 (Something like this, not sure)
    your countour comes here, and change all your Z levels to
    Z[your value - #2]
    #1=#1+1
    End loop

    Not sure about the exaxtly typing, have to look in the manual for that.

    What do you think? could it work.

    Per

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi Per_N,

    Thankyou for your reply.
    If I understand you correctly, your solution is stepping the Z value in increments to the value of #2?
    If this is correct, I don't think that is what I need.
    My problem is that this is a 3D profile, and the Z value is changing along the path.
    I have found that my controller has a Zero Offset Table with Codes G58 & G59. I am still trying to find out if this is my answer.
    If someone know a little about these codes I would appreciate any advise.

    Regards
    Kiwi
    NZ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    129
    Kiwi-

    My machine uses these codes...incremental offsets (both G58 and G59). If you're looking to repeat the same program you'd change it to:
    (ORGX58=?,ORGY58=?,ORGZ58=?) The ?s being the incremental moves...if you're looking to move the part over 1" in X only and repeat the program with a deeper Z depth of, say, .25 you'd change it to:
    (ORGX58=1,ORGY58=0,ORGZ58=-.25)
    G58
    (RPT N100,N400)

    Hope that helps.

    Jen
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi Jen,

    Thankyou for your help, this looks like what I'm looking for.

    Earlier today I changed the Z setting in the Zero Offset Table under G58 from 0 to -2(mm) , but when I run the program it stops with a warning...over riding the soft limits.

    I've had another read of the manual and it covers the (ORGZ 58=?) that you refer to.
    I'll study this further and have another go tomorrow.

    Regards
    Kiwi
    NZ.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17

    Kiwi

    If i get your question right, you wan't to repeat the same path a number of times. But change only the Z value. If this is correct the my loop will work perfectly if you understand what I ment.

    Regards Per

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    106
    If all you are wanting to do is run the exact same toolpath with a different tool length, try using the G10 command. You can incrementally change your tool length compensation by using:
    G10G91L?P?Z-.1 ect
    Check your manual to see what "L" you need for tool offsets (usually L10) and "P" will be the tool offset number.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi Per_N

    My understanding from the code you supplied is that the Z value is constant for each pass. Correct me if I'm wrong.
    I need the Z value to change as this is a 3D profile.
    I want to make each pass 1mm deeper then the previous pass.

    Thank you for your help.
    Regards
    Kiwi.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi E_Stop,

    Thankyou for your help.
    After trying to use (ORGZ 58=?) without any success, I now think your suggestion may be the answer.
    Your G-Code must have some variations to what I use as G10 command for my controller is 'Mirror Image Cancellation'.
    G43 is Tool Length Compensation which I am still trying is get to work.

    Regards
    Kiwi.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi Jen,

    Tried (ORGZ 58=?) but this appears to relate to the HOME Zero on my machine. Every time I ran the code I would lose my settings and it would run under the Home references.
    This may be a factory setting?

    Regards
    Kiwi

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    106
    Originally posted by Kiwi

    G43 is Tool Length Compensation which I am still trying is get to work.
    KIWI--

    G43 is typically a call for the Tool Length Compensation. So, G43 H1 blah blah blah just tells it to use the tool compensation amount in offset #1. The G10 that I referred to modifies the value in the offset so that the next time G43 calls for it, it will have changed by the 1mm you need.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    129
    Kiwi-
    You need to put in the part zero (G54) for the G58 to reference. I didn't look at your program before, sorry. Also, you're missing the G43 which should go after the T1 M6. I have the 8055 M controller - you shouldn't have to put in a D or H value...I'll send you a PM with one of my programs so you can get an idea of the layout.

    Jen
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17

    Kiwi

    Your wrong. The Z path would be change the amount that you put in the #2. But I see that I have forgotten one thing, you also have to put in third parameter that keeps track of the previos cut.
    Like #3=#3+#2

    I take this one more time.
    #1=15 (Number of cuts)
    #2=2 (cutting depth in each cut)
    #3=0 (counter where we are)
    #10=0 (Loop counter)
    WHILE #10 LE #1 DO1
    G0 X0. Y0. (STARTPOINT OF PATH)
    G1 Z[0 - #3]
    X20. Y5. Z[-7. -#3]
    X30. Y8. Z[-12 -#3]
    G0Z1.
    #3=#3+#2
    #10=#10+1
    G0 X0. Y0.
    END1
    G0 Z10. (AFTER 15 CUTS THE PROG. WILL CONTINUE HERE

    I hope you understand this.
    This is how I should do in a Fanuc control, I don't now what Fadal have but I think they have Fanuc too or?

    Regards Per

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi Per_N

    Thanks for the explanation.
    I'll need to study this further as my controller is a FAGOR and I suspect the code may vary?

    Regards Kiwi

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Hi again Per_N

    On further examination of your code I don't think this is a practical solution to my problem as I have about 450 blocks of code and if each one with a Z value needs to be modified to Z(-?-#3).
    I can copy the profile code 12 times and I have a macro that can add the increments to the Z values but considered this a clumsy way.

    Thankyou for your help.
    Regards
    Kiwi

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17

    Kiwi

    Have you ever heard of something could Nc-Editor or change of postprocessor.

    I don't want to be rood, but this is Sunday school programming.
    Study the manual some more before you get into to this type of programming.

    Good luck to you.

    Per

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1220
    Per_N

    Thankyou for your help and advice.

    Kiwi.

Similar Threads

  1. Tool length sensing!
    By Swede in forum FlashCut CNC
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-07-2013, 04:38 AM
  2. Timing belt length calculator.
    By dmgdesigns in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 01:54 AM
  3. Using control comp in lead in-outs
    By badRandle in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 08:22 PM
  4. FeatureCam cutter comp
    By Jim Bass in forum FeatureCAM CAD/CAM
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 02:49 PM
  5. Programming/Using tool length
    By Fudd in forum Fadal
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-25-2004, 04:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •